Added by on 04/01/2018

THE LIGHTYEARS EXPLODE performs the song “DIET COKE” for BalconyTV.
Subscribe to us right now at

‘Like’ us on Facebook –
Follow us on Twitter –


The Lightyears Explode are a three piece Garage / Indie / Punk band from Mumbai, India. Formed in 2009, the band comprises of Aaron Carvalho on Drums, Shalom Benjamin on Bass and Saurabh Roy on Guitars/Vocals. The band draws their influence from everything ranging from The White Stripes to Ganpati Visarjans, forming their very own blend of Masala Punk! Since their inception “The Lightyears Explode” hit the Mumbai college circuit with a bang.

Strong performances and positive word of mouth eventually resulted in them breaking into the big league. Their song “The Weapon” was featured on “Stupid Stupid Stupid” The third instalment of the nation wide un-metal compilation album “Stupid Ditties” and “She Probably Still Is” was featured in the fourth edition of the same. The band went on to win the 2011 edition of the Channel [V] Launchpad. They released their eponymous EP in March 2011 at Bluefrog. The EP was given out free, physically as well as digitally.

The band’s single Three Kills (Kunj Gutka) was featured on the sound track of Bejoy Nambiar’s David. The Lightyears Explode draw a very close influence from Bollywood with their popular cover of ‘Eena Meena Deeka’ and their own songs like ‘Garam Dharam’ and ‘I am a Disco Dancer’. The Lightyears Explode also represented India on the March ’13 edition of The Music Alliance pact with their first single — Garam Dharam.


An Oijo Production :
Sound (Rec) : Kavi Bhansali & Raghav Suthaud
Mix – The Lightyears Explode

Tune in again to BalconyTV //

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *